Kathleen Peters gets Mayor George Cretekos' endorsement for Young's seat

Council members Hock-Dipolito and Gibson also back Peters
CLEARWATER – Citing she has the home field advantage, Kathleen Peters garnered the endorsement of mayor George Cretekos, council member Doreen Hock-DiPolito and vice mayor Paul Gibson in her bid to replace the late C.W. Bill Young in Congress.
In a letter to local Republicans last month, the city leaders said that Peters is their choice because “she is a Pinellas insider; not a Washington insider.”
The release also states that her dedication to the city and county mirrors that of Young's 43-year commitment to the area.
Young died last October shortly after announcing he would not seek a 23rd term. Young represented Florida's 13th Congressional District.
According to her biography, Peters was elected to the South Pasadena city commission in 2008. In June 2009, she was elected by the commission to serve as mayor for the remainder of the retiring mayor's term. She was re-elected mayor in March 2010 and state representative in 2012. She previously served on the board of directors for the Florida League of Mayors, the Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority and Pinellas County EMS Advisory Board. She also served on the Florida League of Cities Growth Management and Transportation Legislative Committee, the American Marine Institute Pinellas Board of Directors, and the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council.
“It's so important that our next representative in Congress is as committed to our community as Bill Young was. In short, Kathleen Peters has demonstrated her love and commitment to Pinellas County by her actions over the last 28 years,” according to the release.
Joining the three Clearwater officials last month endorsing Peters were Dunedin Mayor Dave Eggers and commissioners Julie Scales and Heather Gracy, State Sen. Jack Latvala, Rep. Ed Hooper, St. Petersburg Mayor Bill Foster and Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri, as well as the federal PAC Maggie's List, which backs conservative female candidates.
The special primary election for the seat is Tuesday, and the general election will follow on March 11.
Trending Now