Largo Republicans to Honor Congressman C.W. Bill Young

LARGO - The Republican Club of Greater Largo will honor Congressman C.W. (Bill) Young with its prestigious Abraham Lincoln-Mac Norcross Memorial Service Award on Monday, July 15.  The ceremony will be conducted in the Banquet Room of Alfano’s Restaurant in Clearwater at 7 p.m. following a dinner.
Congressman Young, who has served his district, state and country with distinction for 43 years, was first elected to Congress in 1970 from what was then the 8th District and has been reelected 20 times.  Notwithstanding several redistricting events, Congressman Young has continually been reelected to office. He has mostly coasted to reelection, only twice receiving less than 60% of the vote, in 1992 and 2012.
In 1960 Young was elected to the Florida Senate where he served from 1961 to 1970, and was minority leader in that chamber from 1966 to 1970.
Born in Harmarville, Pennsylvania, a suburb of Pittsburgh, in 1930. He grew up in a Pennsylvania coal town in a shotgun shack.  His father abandoned the family and a flood washed away their home at age 6. An uncle had a hunting camp in Florida, so the family moved there when he was 16. He was forced to drop out of school in order to support his ill mother.   When he was 18, he joined the Army National Guard and served from 1948 to 1957.  Three years later, he sought and won a seat on the Florida Senate.
This award is named after two prominent Americans, one recognized around the world as one of the greatest Republican Presidents in American History, and the other who was a highly respected and recognized Republican and civic activist in Pinellas County.
Abraham Lincoln will always be remembered as the Great Emancipator, who led our country through a civil war between the North and South, and stood firm on the restoration and preservation of the Union that followed. 
Mac Norcross, former chairman of Pinellas County's Republican Party, served as President of the Largo Chamber of Commerce in 1985, and was designated as its Citizen of the Year in 1988.  He was killed in an auto accident on Sept. 18, 1996 in Douglas, Georgia.  He has always been referred to by leaders in both political parties and a consummate gentleman in all of his personal and professional affairs.
Trending Now